Our Valentines Window Gives Love a Bad Name

Check it, our Valentine’s window display. WARNING: Not for the faint of heart.

So, okay, nooot really sure where to start. I guess inspiration, maybe? Bon Jovi’s “You Give Love a Bad Name,” obvi. Rebecca actually sacajaweaed me to that one night when we were brainstorming, so I can’t take full credit. (ME: I want something like ‘love sucks’ but cooler and more heavy metal. HER: Um, duh…) So Bon Jovi’s #1.

Other significant influences include but are not limited to:

  • Dexter. I still tear up every time I think about what happened to poor Rita, and specifically when I remember that trailer with the Lifehouse song. Not that I like Lifehouse at all cuz I don’t, but something about that trailer, man. Like, especially when she turns around and is biting into a crudites. Just, ugh—RITA.
  • Death Becomes Her. Goldie Hawn and Queen Meryl at their hottest. The Meyer and I became (re)obsessed with this movie some weeks back. There’s def a bit of Goldie in the hussie on the left.
  • VPL. Like, as a brand, but also the VPL girl. An anti-Valentines kind of girl. Or at least, a girl who when she says she doesn’t want you to make a big deal out of Valentines Day really means it, instead of faking it and keeping your eff-up as ammo for a rainy day.

So that’s inspiration, but I also wanna send a big ol’ shout-out to Lo for working hard with us into the wee hours. And also for deciding in the 11th hour that the mannequins should be shot through the neck, and not through the heart, which was Jon Bon J’s vote. Observe the close-up, a gauche.

I dunno what else I can really tell you, really. I’ll try to get some interior store shots up soonsies—we just did a floor move for The Times‘ shoot, and I’m fixin’ to throw up some (anti) V-Day decorations around the store in the near future.

Anyway, love you guys. If we were in the third grade, I’d totally give you the Lisa Simpson valentine, which was so the best valentine. XOXO. Don’t choke on your chocolates or have allergic reactions to your flowers or whatever.

This entry was posted in General Awesomeness, Under Construction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

