Done Huntin’

Welcome to 2011, folks. The Year of the Rabbit. We’ve got just one year to live it up before the world ends. So don’t be scurred – go after what you want, whether it be that amazing job, those sweet shoes you’ve been eyeing, or that cute boy sitting by you at the bar. Right? WRONG! Well, wrong about the boy, at least. If I’ve learned anything in my 12+ years of dating, it’s this:

Guys don’t like it when a girl makes the first move. They need and enjoy the thrill of the chase.

I know the above statement might make some people angry, and I realize that we are living in the modern world and I should be all about women’s lib, blah blah blah… But here’s the truth: Lots of dudes may say that they’re tired of being the one to chase girls and would be pleasantly surprised if a gal turned the tables and went after them for a change, however, I am a firm believer that this is only really true in one specific scenario: if a guy is already digging you but is too shy or afraid of rejection to do anything about it. Otherwise, they simply see you as being too aggressive and are turned off. There’s no ‘chase’, and they need that feeling. We could liken this behavior to that of a hunter. What fun is it to kill a deer if it walks right up to you?

Therefore, one of my New Year’s resolutions for 2011 is this: sit pretty, bat your eyelashes, and smile and nod. No more “going after what I want” when it comes to guys. If you like me, you can come talk to me. You wanna hang out sometime? You can ask for my number. And I may or may not give it to you. Playing hard to get is the new going after what you want, at least in my opinion. Let the games begin, suckaaas!

Until next time, happy dating!
—Shadi

This entry was posted in General Awesomeness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

